Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine signed into effect a redistricting bill, Senate Bill 258, marking the first time in nearly 200 years that five of the Buckeye State’s major cities are each contained within one congressional district and do not gerrymander. The redistricting follows the 2020 Census and cuts the number of Ohio’s legislative districts from 16 to 15, but increases the number of competitive districts in the state. The new district map will go into effect for Ohio’s 2022 legislative elections, DeWine announced Nov. 22. Ohio’s 15 United States representatives and 132 state legislators are all elected from political divisions called districts. District lines are redrawn every 10 years following completion of the U.S. census. Federal law requires that districts must have nearly equal populations and must not discriminate on the basis of race, or ethnicity. “When compared to the other proposals offered from House and Senate caucuses, both Republican …https://www.theepochtimes.com/c-us-politics


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: