The race for Minnesota’s 1st Congressional District in the May 24 special election will field eight GOP candidates seeking to fill the vacancy caused by the death of U.S. Rep. Jim Hagedorn (R).
The declared Republican frontrunner candidates include Hagedorn’s widow Jennifer Carnahan, Minnesota state Rep. Jeremy Munson, and former state Rep. Brad Finstad.
They will join perennial candidate Bob “Again” Carney Jr., Ken Navitsky, Roger Ungemach, Matt Benda, and Nels Pierson in the battle for the GOP nomination.
On the Democratic side, Jeffrey Ettinger will face challenger Richard Painter in the primary.
The winners of both races will advance to the Aug. 9 special general election to represent southern Minnesota in the U.S. House of Representatives….


Leave a Reply